Norsk versjon Printer friendly    
Minimalen 2018

Festival 2018
» Schedule 2018
INT: International Comp.
NOR: Nordic Comp.
European Award Winners
Iran Now
Nick Jordan
Estonian Animation
Hollywood Revisited: Mark Rappaport Essays
Norwegian Film Art: Rolf Aamot and Ane Hjort Guttu
Multiplié dansefilm
Trondhjem 1908
Short Film Studies Symposium
30th Anniversary Screening
Short Treats
Children & Youth
Outdoor Cinema
Opening Screening
Award Ceremony and Screening
Regional Student Comp.
Industry: Nordic Shorts Expo
Party and map

  Awards 2018
  Virtual Catalogue 2018
  » Download catalogue 2018 (pdf)

Next Call for entries



About Minimalen

Mobile friendly

Network membership:
Nordic SFF Network
Minimalen on Facebook Minimalen on Twitter Minimalen on Vimeo Minimalen on Flickr
Instant Twitter updates

Minimalen Short Film Festival

Previous festivals:
  2016 - 2017
  2013 - 2014 - 2015
  2010 - 2011 - 2012
  2007 - 2008 - 2009
  2004 - 2005 - 2006
  2001 - 2002 - 2003
The 21st Minimalen Short Film Festival
March 6 - 10, 2009

Last ned katalog

» Programme 2009 » Video Snapshots » Download catalogue


Awards 2009

Awards - Norwegian Competition

Three films awarded by the Award Jury.

Best Norwegian Film: A diploma and NOK 10000 donated by Scanpix.
Jury statement: 'A film that creates its own striking universe, makes use of the full range of the medium's possibilities - especially regarding production design, camera work, sound design and acting, and that captures and holds the viewer's attention from the very first moment.'

Best Norwegian Fiction: 5 reels of 35 mm film stock donated by Kodak.
TWENDE by Lindsay Sanner
Jury statement: "A film of real magic, where the dialogue is remarkably well written and acted, and which involves an interplay between different characters, each being utterly convincing."

The Special Jury Award: A light kit (Ianiro Lilliput 9) donated by Video 4.
Jury statement: "A film opening the door to a world we knew little of, and which solve a narrative problem in an intriguing way, and unites to genres in a sort of 'animentary'."

Honorable mentions:
OH, MY GOD! by Anne Sewitsky
GJENNOM SMERTE by Ingrid Losnegaard
SKUDDENE PÅ ULLEVAAL by Daniel Rasmussen

32 Norwegian films screened, selected from 110 submissions. 2 screened Out of Competition.

Awards - Nordic Competition (NIFA):

All winners receive a NIFA-trophy and prize money from Nordic Culture Fund. Please note that also the films in Norwegian Competition participated.

NIFA Best Film (EUR 1250):
BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by Aleksander Nordaas - Norway
Jury statement: 'A film that creates its own striking universe, makes use of the full range of the medium's possibilities - especially regarding production design, camera work, sound design and acting, and that captures and holds the viewer's attention from the very first moment.'

NIFA Best Documentary (EUR 250):
THE PENALTY BOX (KIINNIPITÄMINEN) by Arthur Franck og Oskar Forstén - Finland
Jury statement: 'A great and original story, told in an amusing and efficient way.'

NIFA Best Fiction (EUR 250):
2 BIRDS (SMÁFUGLAR) by Runar Runarsson - Iceland
Jury statement: 'A film that builds up for its final scenes, without words, deeply moving, extremely well made and cinematic - through the acting of the young couple.'

NIFA Best Animation or Art Film (EUR 250):
MY GRANDMOTHER BEIJING by Mats Grorud - Norway
Jury statement: 'A film that emotionally transfers the transformation of a world nation on to the face of a grandmother.'

Honorable mentions:
DENNIS by Mads Matthiesen - Denmark

Award - One-minute-film Competition

Audience Award: Challenge Cup "Den Gyldne Saks", and transfer to 35 mm film covered by Nordisk Film Post Production.
PÅ PERRONGEN by Solveig Sigmond


Award - International Panorama

Audience Award: EUR 500 given by Filmkick.
VARMINTS by Marc Craste - England

The Jury (Norwegian and Nordic Competition):

• Richard Raskin (b. 1941), Dr.Phil, Associate Professor at the University of Aarhus, Denmark, where he teaches screenwriting and is the editor of the film publication p.o.v. He has written several books, including The Art of the Short Fiction Film and Kortfilmen som fortælling.

• Anja Breien (b. 1940), director. Received international recognition with Hustruer (Wives, 1975), and has made numerous features and shorts, participating in Cannes, Venice and Berlin. Recently received the Liv Ullmann Honorary Award.

• Johan Clason (b. 1942), Senior Coordinator at The Norwegian Film School, Lillehammer. Long career as a production manager, assistant director, props manager and sound engineer in Swedish film industry.


Award winners at Minimalen 2017
International Competition Best International Film - The Minimalen Trophy and 1000 euro given by Minimalen LIMBO by Konstantina Kotzamani [FRA, GRE] The jury were impressed by the pure cinematic power of [+]

Publisert 30.01.2017 13:32

Join our team – be a volunteer at Minimalen
We hope you will join us in creating a great festival 25. – 29. januar 2017. As a volunteer you will meet other film enthusiasts and work in a great [+]

Publisert 23.11.2016 13:54

Award Winners at Minimalen 2016
International Competition Jury: Richard Raskin (USA, DNK), Hannes Vartiainen (FIN), Arna Marie Bersås (NOR). Best International Film- incl. EUR 1 000 from Minimalen ZEPO av César Díaz Meléndez [ESP] The film tells a [+]

Publisert 31.01.2016 23:32

Award Winners at Minimalen 2015
Norwegian Competition Prerunner: Prerunner to be screened at Trondheim Kino for one month, chosen by Trondheim Kino. Special Mention: ALL IN by Line Klungseth Johansen and Øystein Moe Best Prerunner: [+]

Publisert 27.04.2015 15:27

Award Winners at the 26th Minimalen Short Film Festival
International Panorama Audience Award: 500 euro from Minimalen. CURFEW by Shawn Christensen – USA Don Quixote Award, chosen by the FICC-jury: Atle Hunnes Isaksen, Daniela Fend, Carles Font Garcia. THE DEVIL [+]

Publisert 16.03.2014 18:10

  Trondheim kino as